Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content

Postgraduate Medical Trainees in Ontario

Postgraduate Medical Trainees in Ontario (PMTIO) Annual Reports are the most comprehensive source of information on the demographics and distribution of postgraduate trainees in Ontario and are derived from the Ontario Postgraduate Registry.

Trainee counts in PMTIO Annual Reports are based on a November 1 census date.

The Ontario Postgraduate Registry is compiled annually using registration data from the Ontario postgraduate medical education offices. The six Ontario medical schools are located at:

  • McMaster University
  • NOSM University
  • University of Ottawa
  • Queen’s University
  • University of Toronto
  • Western University

Historical information on postgraduate trainees is maintained to permit long-term analyses of trends in postgraduate education. These can also be linked to the Active Physician Registry to track trainees forward into active practice.

Annual reports of Postgraduate Medical Trainees in Ontario are published on our website. Custom reports on specific data elements and reports spanning two or more years can also be prepared upon request.